Twenty New Countries Apply to Join the BRICS Alliance in 2024


The BRICS bloc has disclosed that twenty additional countries have submitted applications to become members of the alliance in 2024, in continuation of the six-nation expansion initiative implemented at the annual summit. Twenty New Countries Apply to Join the BRICS Alliance in 2024. Anil Sooklal, the partnership ambassador, specifically mentioned the new countries interested in further expansion.

Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Egypt, Ethiopia, Argentina, and Iran were extended invitations by BRICS this year. In contrast, Argentine officials refused to accept the invitation after the inauguration of Javier Milei as president. Furthermore, Nigeria and Pakistan are two of twenty additional nations vying for a spot in next year’s expansion announcement.

Read more: Swift Discloses Her Initial Reaction To Receiving The Person Of The Year Award.

20 New Countries Seeking Entry into the BRICS

In recent months, the BRICS economic alliance has experienced significant expansion. Undoubtedly, the bloc has increased its membership by six countries and significantly broadened its sphere of influence. Considerable progress has been achieved in pursuing multipolarity through its de-dollarization endeavors.

In the wake of the developments at the BRICS annual summit 2023, twenty additional nations have submitted applications to join the alliance in 2024. The same number of nations have formally applied to join BRICS and expressed interest, according to Anil Sooklal.

“This further supports the notion that BRICS is actively advocating for the interests of developing and emerging economies,” he continued. “Many interested parties exist, and the appropriate foreign ministers will address their concerns.” Conversely, Sooklal refrained from explicitly identifying the countries in question. However, numerous nations have already indicated their interest.

Thailand is probably involved among these twenty nations, along with Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Cuba, Ecuador, Indonesia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Senegal, Sudan, Venezuela, and Uruguay. Furthermore, Nigeria and Pakistan had previously expressed their aspiration to become members of the alliance shortly.